Skip to content

Chambers honor outstanding teachers at Flame For Learning Award Banquet

Because of the importance of teachers in developing and educating children, the Chambers of Commerce in Johnston County (Benson, Clayton, Cleveland, Four Oaks, Kenly, Princeton and Smithfield-Selma) adopted the Flame For Learning Award.  In so doing, it has been the goal of the local chambers to support and elevate the teaching profession in the public schools. This award recognizes outstanding creativity and innovation in the classroom and nominees are selected strictly on merit, without regard to school or residence. The recipient of the award is named the Johnston County Teacher of the Year and will represent the Johnston County Public School System in the North Carolina Teacher of the Year competition.  400+ teachers were nominated and were asked to submit a “best practice” that he or she used in the classroom.  A selection committee named 20 semifinalists after reviewing the best practices.  The 20 semifinalists participated in an interview process to determine the recipient and the finalists.

The recipient and finalists for the Flame for Learning Award were named at a celebratory banquet on April 30, 2013 at the Johnston County Agricultural center.  Former Johnston County School Superintendent Dr. Jim Causby was the featured speaker.

The 2013 Flame for Learning Award Recipient is Joshua Beck of Clayton High School.  His best practice is entitled “Talk the Talk, Walk the Walk”.

Finalists are: 
Kelly Davis of Benson Elementary School – Best Practice:  “The Book Patch”
Courtneay Overbee of Corinth Holders High School – Best Practice:  “Square Cake Cutting Proof Activity”
Jennifer Roberts of Four Oaks Elementary School – Best Practice:   “Look Who’s Talking Now:  A Paradigm Shift”

The 20 semifinalists are:

Patsy Elrod, Wilson's Mills Elementary
Shannon Pawlak, Riverwood Elementary
Karen Collins, West Johnston High
Kelly Davis, Benson Elementary
Joseph Smith, Smithfield -Selma High
Christa Joy, East Clayton Elementary
Lauren Sabo, Clayton Middle
Donna Hawkins, Smithfield Middle
Kali Shuford, Meadow Elementary
Michelle Disney, Glendale Kenly Elementary
Sarah Lilley, West Clayton Elementary
Courtneay Overbee, Corinth Holders High
Brittany Taylor,  Johnston County Middle College High
Bethany Jones, Smithfield -Selma High
Laura Jefferson, McGee's Crossroads Elementary
Rebecca Kimble, Archer Lodge Middle
Tamara Adams, West Smithfield Elementary
Jennifer Roberts, Four Oaks Elementary
Courtney Renfrow, West Smithfield Elementary
Joshua Beck, Clayton High

The Flame for Learning Award Recipient receives a cash award of $1000 and the Johnston County Education Foundation will also contribute $500 to the award recipient. The three finalists receive $300 each and the 16 semifinalists receive $100 each. The schools of the three finalists and the recipient will receive $250 each as well.

Sponsors for the 2013 Flame For Learning Award

Johnston County Ed. Foundation with Sysco Food Services
Johnston County Schools

First Citizens Bank
Interstate Outdoor, Inc.
Johnston Health
Progress Energy
Walmart of Smithfield
Zaxby’s of Clayton & Smithfield

Atlantic Coast Protein Corp.
Clayton Chamber of Commerce
Clayton Mid-Day Rotary Club
Clayton Woman’s Club
Corestaff Services
Four Oaks Bank & Trust
Greater Smithfield-Selma Area Chamber of Commerce
KS Bank, Inc.
Mast Law Firm
Memory Lane Frame Shop
McDonald’s - F & D Huebner, LLC
Narron, O’Hale & Whittington, PA
Novo Nordisk
E. D. Parker Corporation
Princeton Chamber of Commerce
Sleep Inn & Suites of Smithfield
The Vine & Branch Florist
Triangle Insurance Group
Waste Industries
Watson, Cooke & Jones, CPA
Wood Termite & Pest Control
Woody’s Computing Service

Armstrong & Armstrong, P.A.
Benson Area Chamber of Commerce
Benson Kiwanis Club
Benson Lions Club
Big Boys Truck Stop
Carroll Pharmacy
Chick-fil-A of Smithfield
Daughtry, Woodard, Lawrence & Starling, PA
Deacon Jones Auto Park
Eason, Scovil, Stephenson & Associates, PA
Golden Corral of Smithfield
Greater Cleveland Chamber of Commerce
Four Oaks Chamber of Commerce
Hog Slat Inc.
Johnston County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
Johnston County Farm Bureau Insurance - Keith Brinson
Johnston County Schools/Education Foundation – Donna White
Kenly Area Chamber of Commerce
McDonald’s—F & D Huebner
Mitchell Temporary Services
Senator David Rouzer
Mark & Regina Ryan
Dr. Peggy Smith
Stephenson General Contractors
W. Landis Bullock Industrial Contractor Supply
Wilkins, Wellons, & Coats, Attorneys
Willowrun Veterinary Hospital

Scroll To Top