Skip to content

Chamber recognizes top students from local high schools

The Greater Smithfield-Selma Area Chamber of Commerce held its second annual Academic Achievers Luncheon on March 31 at Johnston Community College to honor the top juniors from the Smithfield-Selma area high schools.  Students in attendance were recognized for their hard work and dedication that has allowed them to excel in their educational careers.

Students from the five high schools that are members of the Chamber were invited to the luncheon based on their grade point average and size of their class. Schools participating were Smithfield-Selma High School, Johnston County Early College Academy, Johnston County Middle College, Princeton High School and Neuse Charter School.

The luncheon, sponsored by Golden Corral, gave students the opportunity to network with business professionals in their anticipated fields of study. The career areas included medicine, law, education, computer science, engineering, public relations and business.  Representatives from several nearby universities were also present  and spoke to the students about the challenges of college life.

The students each received a certificate of recognition for their academic accomplishments and enjoyed networking with fellow students during the luncheon.

The following is a list of the 2014 Academic Achievers:

Daniel Avila, Smithfield-Selma HS
Cesar Bautista, Early College Academy
Aaron Beaver, Early College Academy
Courtney Benson, Smithfield-Selma HS
Haley Brownlee, Neuse Charter School
Jessica Brush, Princeton HS
Allison Burke, Neuse Charter School
Morgana Callahan, Middle College HS
Austin Click, Middle College HS
Haley Creech, Smithfield-Selma HS
Cassie Creech, Smithfield-Selma HS
Keegan Evans, Smithfield-Selma HS
Jaclyn Farrior, Princeton HS
Cameron Garris, Smithfield-Selma HS
Joseph Hatcher , Princeton HS
Cherokee Johnson, Early College Academy
Aggie Karafas, Neuse Charter School
Emma Lampe, Smithfield-Selma HS
Zach Leposa, Smithfield-Selma HS
Ashton Makey, Smithfield-Selma HS
Ethan McSwain, Neuse Charter School
Nicole Morand, Middle College HS
Roger Munguia, Smithfield-Selma HS
Cameron Parker, Princeton HS
Alexander Pettit, Early College Academy
Annie Rasheva, Middle College HS
Cody Schneider, Smithfield-Selma HS
Kevin Smith, Early College Academy
Emma Szczesiul, Smithfield-Selma HS
Hallie Tetreault, Neuse Charter School
Cierra Tew, Princeton HS
Jose Trujillo, Smithfield-Selma HS
Sarah Wieland, Smithfield-Selma HS
Azlynn Williams, Middle College HS
Keith Williams, Smithfield-Selma HS
Waylon Woodall, Princeton HS


Scroll To Top