Skip to content

Chamber recognizes top scholarship nominees at SSS

At its meeting on Tuesday, September 27, the Greater Smithfield-Selma Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors recognized several Smithfield-Selma High School seniors who have been nominated for highly competitive, prestigious college scholarships in North Carolina.
The 4-year Park, Morehead-Cain, Levine and Belk Scholarships are offered respectively to attend, N.C. State University, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and Davidson College.
Corina Knott, Chair-Elect of the Chamber and the presiding officer at the meeting, said of the honorees, “Congratulations are in order for our students. These nominations recognize their work ethic and commitment to learning. Not only are they perfect examples of emerging leadership, but they inspire us in our work and daily living. The Chamber salutes our students and pledges our commitment to their continued success.”
These eleven students were selected for the school's nomination after submitting an application and interviewing with the SSS Scholarship Committee.
Nominees for the Park Scholarship at NC State University are Ethan Faulconer and Chandler Lasater. Nominees for the UNC-Chapel Hill Morehead-Cain Scholarship are Sarah Altman, Ryan Hess, and Reagan Howell.
Nominees for the Levine Scholarship at UNC-Charlotte are Ryan Hess, Bobbie Shreiner, Ariana Wieland, and Destiny McDaniel.
Nominees for the Belk Scholarship at Davidson are Aubrie Leonard and Ariana Wieland.
These SSS nominees will proceed to the next phase of the application process for their respective scholarships.


Scroll To Top